kirstendownunder.reismee.nl

New Zealand 4:

Kia Ora, let’s do week four!

I think Wellington is quite a good place, unfortunately I haven’t seen anything of it because I got sick. I spent almost the whole day in bed. The next day I drove to Abel Tasman. We took the ferry from the North to the South Island which took three hours. We stopped at a place where we could go for a swim. Really nice spot, our bus driver called it ‘Little Paradise’. In the afternoon I arrived at the accommodation literally next to Abel Tasman National Park.

After a good night sleep I woke up quite early. I booked an activity for the whole day and started with a kayak tour. I saw a couple of seals with little baby seals, it was really cute. After three hours I finished the kayak part and started walking. It was a walk just for 30 minutes or so. The view was absolutely stunning at one point. When I arrived at the beach, I jumped on the sailing boat. The weather was so good, which made the sail trip awesome. Great company, great views, great weather, we played a game. Great time!

On day 25 of my New Zealand trip I did something pretty scary, I went with the helicopter to 16.500ft and jumped out of the plane. Yes, you’re right I did skydive. The free fall was going so fast, they told me it was 65 seconds but it felt like 20 seconds. The view was indescribable, you are so high up and you can watch so far! It was a fantastic experience. I wasn’t even scared at all. Later on I arrived in Westport where I practiced my surfing skills for two hours again.

The next day we travelled to Franz Josef with quite a few stops in between. The first stop was at Pancake Café, where you could do the Pancake track as well. A small walk and perfect for making some nice pictures. I also visited the caves, nothing too special but nice!

Franz Josef is famous because of the Helihike. You’re getting in a helicopter and they bring you up the mountain. Then you will hike on a glacier. Unfortunately it was the day of the cyclone, so everything was cancelled. And not just cancelled, we lost power because trees were falling on the power cables and on the roads. The weather was bizarre, the wind was so strong and the rain so heavy. And because of the weather conditions it wasn’t sure we could leave the next day. The roads were closed, they didn’t had a choice they had to get rid of all the trees on the roads first.

We finally got the answer, we could leave but we changed schedule. Instead of going south to Wanaka we drove to the North up to Christchurch. We missed some beautiful stops along the way because of this, but at least we had a nice bed to sleep in. The next day we continued driving from Christchurch to Wanaka. The view during the drive was absolutely epic, so I am not complaining too much that we missed some great spots. In the afternoon we finally arrived in Wanaka. I went out for a drink and enjoyed the nice Lake Wanaka!

Dear readers, thank you for keep on reading. Have a great day. As you probably know, you can find the pictures of week four in Album New Zealand 4. Lots of love!

Reacties

Reacties

Tineke

Prachtig Kirsten wat een verhalen. Dit jaar pakken ze nooit weer van je af en gaat je je leven achtervolgen. Op een positieve manier!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active